How to Defend Yourself Against Your Weighted Blanket

Rachel Wendte
4 min readDec 17, 2019
Photo by Igor Rand on Unsplash

Like many, I had my eye on certain Black Friday and Cyber Monday deals. My biggest steal was a weighted blanket that I scored for under twenty dollars.

I’ve been hearing about these magic cover ups for some time. They help you sleep better. They make you feel at ease. They can relieve pain. YAY! As a chronic pain sufferer, I figured it couldn’t hurt to try one more thing. And yet, that’s exactly what it did.

First I had it on my lap while I was working. That felt fine, and perhaps a little comfortable? It was hard to tell under all the weight. But it certainly didn’t make things worse. At bedtime, I folded it across my lower body (my cerebral palsy pain affects my legs) and tucked in. It felt nice, and I tried to sleep. But when I went to switch positions, I realized that the extra weight was going to make that impossible without moving things around. I unfolded the blanket halfway, repositioned myself, then repositioned the blanket. Fine, right?

After one night of tossing, turning, and rearranging, I resolved that most people sleep with the full blanket, so I should try that, too, if I wanted to increase my comfort. I gave that a try. The first night in this configuration was slightly better, and I thought to myself, “See? You’re getting used to it. Your body just has to acclimate to the new situation…

--

--

Rachel Wendte

Arts & culture enthusiast who loves all things creative, media related, and cleverly debated. #UXDesigner and Tutor @CareerFoundry.